GSOC SVG: now konq knows how to write!

It’s been a while since my last blog post. That’s mostly because I was working on svg text rendering. There were several problems that I had to solve before text appeared for me. Thanks to my mentor, SadEagle, who helped me with them.

My initial gsoc proposal said that at the end I would spend some time on testing. That’s why I was working on the text. It allows to render several tests from svg1.0 suite. And here is one of them:

3 Responses to “GSOC SVG: now konq knows how to write!”

  1. Sebastien H Says:

    Cool, wonderfull job 🙂

    I was wondering, any change this svg implementation work well with javascript too ?
    this was my main complain regarding svg support in konq3.
    for example, test this :
    http://code.mincus.com/svg/3d.svg
    in firefox/iceweasel and in konq3…

    Anyway thanks for your time on this projet 🙂

  2. vtokarev Says:

    Sebastien: thanks
    this implementation doesn’t work well with javascript *yet*, (in WebKit it does) but there is work going on in that direction. Hopefully, for next kde release 4.2 it will work just fine.

  3. Alex Says:

    Your blog is interesting!

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

