gsoc progress: khtml

Hi, planet!
I’m Russian student working at Google Summer of Code (GSoC) on KHTML. For those who doesn’t know or doesn’t care about kdes’ gsoc students: my project is to implement SVG support for khtml. As you may know in kde3 it was ksvg project and it interacts together with khtml. But with porting to qt4 a lot changed and the important thing: ksvg wasn’t ported. So, say no for normal svg support in khtml4.0.x. However ksvg is being actively developed in webkit and my main goal is to port it to khtml.
I’ve started to work on my project very early. The first reason svg is huge and the second one I had to do some underlying work before I could start with svg.
I’m working in my own khtml branch: branches/work/khtml-blaze.
So far, I’ve implemented support for basic shapes: rect, circle, ellipse, polygon, polyline, path. Supported attributes (not much): fill, stroke, stroke-width, fill-opacity, stroke-opacity. It seems small, especially if you take Qt library and paint such elements, but it’s not that easy, it touches all parts of khtml: DOM, CSS and Rendering. I had to add more than 50 files in cmake configuration file to make it work.
Already I have a nice thing: having rect and fill attributes make konq to pass one more test in “Web Compatibility Test for Mobile Browsers” http://dev.w3.org/2008/mobile-test/doc.html. yay!
And at the end, obligatory screenshot:

I have to say I’m very glad to be accepted as GSoC student for KDE. I thank all kde devs for doing great job. My mentor, SadEagle – you are the best. And khtml team.

9 Responses to “gsoc progress: khtml”

  1. moltonel Says:

    Congrats on work done; I hadn’t realized it was so involved (and not just a matter of pluging in qt’s svg renderer). SVG is an ever-increasingly important technology.

    I suppose you’re aiming for KDE 4.2 ? Good luck, and have fun 🙂

  2. rob Says:

    Nice. Looking forward to this.

  3. John Tapsell Says:

    You’re awesome 🙂

  4. mmmm Says:

    Yay, old good code duplication. Long live webkitkde!

  5. Frank Says:

    Do you expect there to be a quality difference between konqueror using webkit and konqueror using khtml with your stuff?

  6. Fri13 Says:

    Great! KDE lacks good SVG support for browser, I hope that someday there will be all effects what inkscape supports too 🙂

  7. vtokarev Says:

    thanks for the comments
    @moltonel: yes I’m planning to merge with trunk later, till the end of summer. so it’s gonna be for kde4.2
    @mmmm: let’s start with webkit was originally the code duplication
    @Frank: I think yes. but maybe not in the near future. as stuff becomes trickier implementations differ more, so with complex svg features there could be significant difference

  8. vtokarev Says:

    btw, I forgot to add that the whole idea of my project to share the code, not to duplicate it. I want to leave code unchanged as much as I can

  9. Sebastian Sauer Says:

    great work 🙂

Leave a Reply

